Tags

, , , , , , ,

“...he had hens with him in his journey to the north country, and sold them with his other wares, wherefore was he called Hen Thorir.

The last four days have brought spring showers that have flooded pastures and knocked down tree limbs all over the homestead.  The storms that moved in produced heavy winds and thunder with lightning that was quite a change from the relatively quiet snow storms of winter.  This switch from the muffled sounds of deep snowfall to the chatter of water running over the field and the rumbling of the sky was welcome and energized my longing for the seasonal change.

During a storm that brings anything more than a breeze, we are concerned for the ancient willow that holds court in the center of our farmstead.

IMG_0005

I am not sure how old this fellow is, but I guess the life has slipped away from it judging by the amount of limbs and twigs that have fallen over the last few years.  Every spring it continues to produce some greenery and long wispy trails of leaves drag downward to the ground. Still, we avoid walking underneath during windy days since there exists the always present danger of a widowmaker.

With the arrival of the stormy weather, most of the chickens have remained in the coops despite having free access to a few green paddocks.  I am glad that we had taken the time to give them all a good spring cleaning earlier.  This is the interior of the main coop that usually houses somewhere between 12 – 20 chickens.

IMG_0042

I was pleasantly surprised a few days ago when I entered the coop to fill the feeder and saw two of my hens sitting in nest boxes and looking quite broody.  They were definitely irritable when I tried to come near them and while I am not sure how many eggs they are sitting on, I am excited for the possibility of more chicks in a few weeks.

This weekend is supposed to be warmer and without rain.  I hope to get back out into the gardens and plant a few more crops.  At this point, I am lagging a bit behind and need to finish putting in another bed of potatoes, asparagus, and some dill.

One can never have enough potatoes.

 

